Bruno Kreisky Foundation

for Human Rights


The Kreisky Foundation for Human Rights honours individuals, groups, institutions and/or projects for their outstanding services to human rights. The prize is awarded every two years. The award winners are selected by an independent international jury and confirmed by the board. The prizes are worth in general between 7,000 euro and 30,000 euro.

Multiple nominations and self-nominations are accepted.

Criteria for a nomination are:

  • Activities for the enforcement, promotion and further development of international human rights and international humanitarian law
  • Activities for the protection and support of human rights defenders
  • Humanitarian or charitable aid under extraordinary conditions
  • Peaceful conflict resolution and dialogue attempt in deadlock conflicts

Nominations should be sent exclusively to the secretariat of the Foundation.

The decisions and justifications of the independent jury of experts are published on the Foundation's website.

Please send us your email .